Last Poem Before a Blogging Break

I’m off to England to visit family so it’s one quick post before I go. Unfortunately I won’t have time to check your new posts while I’m away, but look forward to catching up with everyone when I get back.

 

Poems in My Head

 

Poems pop into my head

Like mushrooms in the dawn

Lots of little newnesses

In circles on the lawn.

They pop up through the blades of grass

And dandelion stems

And fly around inside my head

Like dew-drop covered gems

Passing thoughts and sentences

Unspoken little words

Some that make a lot of sense

And some just quite absurd

Sometime they will just arrive

And then I grab a pen

And catch them on some paper

Before they’re gone again

Elusive little devils

Like minnows in a stream

They often have no meaning

They often have no theme

When I try and write them

I find it can’t be done

So now I let them wander

And I write them when they come!

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Last Poem Before a Blogging Break”

  1. Thank you Lisa! I wrote that poem donkey’s years ago and recently found it in the depths of a drawer in my desk. I’ll enjoy my little break back to the jungle of cars and people, and English voices – unlike your jungle full of birdsong šŸ™‚

    Like

I'd love your thoughts!

